How I fight depression through writing poetry by Tracy Diane Miller

I woke up this morning feeling nostalgic yet very sad and depressed. May 13, 2005 was my mother’s funeral. May 14, 1990 was my law school graduation. Two milestones moments in my life for obviously very different reasons.

I remember my mom telling me a long time ago not to cry over her when she was gone. She would say that even though it may not seem like it to us she had a great life. Her children were the source of great happiness and great pride for her. She never had to deal with teenage rebellion and she never had to worry about us succumbing to any kind of peer pressure. What more could a parent ask for?

Depression has been a part of my life for so long. I miss the 1980s. It was my decade before depression. I try to remember who I was and how I felt back then. It seems like a lifetime ago.

I remember my mom telling me that it really helps to focus on someone else when you are at those low points in your life. For my mother, her focus was her children.

I fight my depression by writing poetry. If I can get away from myself and my feelings and write poetry for other people, I find an inner peace. It sustains me.

So, for anyone who has received a poem from me, please know how much you mean to me. And I thank you in the purest form I know: through writing verse.

