#SupernaturalDay The Road So Far that led me to #Supernatural by Tracy Diane Miller
I have battled demons and prayed to angels. I have taken the back roads in my life and detoured my dreams. I have learned that family don’t end in blood.

My life hasn’t always been easy. But through the noise and confusion, I have carried on.

The year was 2005, when I saw the worst of times (with the passing of my mother on May 10th) and the best of times (when a little horror show called Supernatural premiered on Tuesday, September 13th on the then WB network).

I’m not a horror fan. The sight of blood (even the fake variety) turns my stomach. Decapitation of vampires, so not my thing. So how did I become a passionate fan of Supernatural? Four words: Sam and Dean Winchester!

Those flannel wearing, Kansas born, heroic Winchester brothers (played to perfection by Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles) left an indelible imprint on the hearts of viewers. The Winchesters see their lives as expendable when saving the world is at stake. But even a hero has an Achilles heel and for these brothers, it is each other. As it has been said, “self sacrifice is the Winchester way.” Those LARPers (Live Action Role Players) from the Season 5 episode “The Real Ghostbusters” got it right:

“…to be Sam and Dean, to wake up every morning and save the world. To have a brother who would die for you. Who wouldn’t want that?”

And that, to me is the heart of Supernatural: The show speaks to your emotions. It connects people whose lives have taken them along different journeys. Supernatural speaks the language of humanity, the unspoiled place we all know where we seek to give and receive love.

Through Supernatural, I have learned that valuable lesson that family don’t end in blood. My blood family of my twin sister Stacy has been expanded to include several people who have become family in my heart.

Through Supernatural, I have developed a rapport with my Muse who has generously inspired me to write and publish 11 Supernatural poetry books (and counting!)

Through Supernatural, I have learned that a demon has a compassionate heart and that her songs are a gift to my soul. Well, not an actual demon: Nicki Aycox (who originated the role of the demon Meg Masters) is a beautiful and kind hearted spirit and a wonderful musical artist. Her debut EP, Red Velvet Room, recently celebrated its first “birthday” on August 28, 2016. Nicki is a whirlwind of positivity on social media, inspiring, supporting and encouraging fans to pursue their dreams.

Through Supernatural, I have learned that the original Dean (his Gilmore Girls alter ego) and now Sam, Jared Padalecki, is not only a hero on screen, but also one in real life. His Always Keep Fighting campaign created a community of compassion and hope threading people from all over the world who felt alienated and stigmatized because they fought anxiety and depression. With his battle cry of Love Yourself First, You Matter and I am Enough, Jared Padalecki courageously confronts his own demons of anxiety and depression and is our champion who teaches us to do the same.

My road so far: I have battled demons and prayed to angels. I have taken the back roads in my life and detoured my dreams. I have learned that family don’t end in blood. My life hasn’t always been easy. But through the noise and confusion, I have carried on.

