On this #NationalPoetryDay , I honor my mother who listened to me when I was 7 years old when I told her my goal of becoming a professional poet. Even though I never became the Poet Laureate that I told her that I wanted to be when I grew up (I remember that conversation that we had back in 1972) , I’m FINALLY living my dream of my making my living as a poet & writer. It took me 44 years, but I made it. I owe EVERYTHING to my mother. Even though she didn’t live to see me publish my poetry books, everyday I talk to her. She struggled alot to raise her children with very limited financial resources. She championed faith in God, pursuit of education & believing in ourselves. I’ve said it for years & I will continue to say it, without her, we could have become part of the negative stereotypes that you see from people who grew up in the not so pleasant inner city.

I miss you, mom. Everyday I miss you. Everyday I think of you. But I remember you telling us a very long ago to take care of each other & to try not to be sad when you were gone. You told us that when you left us, you needed the rest. You promised that you would visit us often in our dreams. You kept that promise.

I celebrate #NationalPoetryDay by celebrating my mother. We did it, Mom. We’ve published my poetry books!

https://lifeisawalkingshadow.wordpress.com/2016/06/03/we-did-it-mom-weve-published-my-poetry-books-by-tracy-diane-miller/

