A Holiday Thank You by Tracy Diane Miller

I didn’t feel in the holiday spirit too much this year. I couldn’t bring myself to send out holiday cards as I had done in the past. I do feel that the days are getting better than they were in November & I am trying to follow a battle plan for 2017 to focus both creative & positive energy.

I thank those of you who took time out from you lives to offer genuine expressions of concern for me. I thank those of you who were instrumental in giving me your compassion & your talents. You became the inspiration for much of my poetry for 2016. I felt grateful to celebrate your birthdays, your anniversaries & other milestones by writing poetry for you. I felt grateful that (hopefully) my poetic voice brought you small comfort as you confronted medical emergencies or other personal difficulties or as you mourned the loss of loved ones. While I make it my policy to stay silent on certain issues that I see, I try not to stay silent when it comes to writing a poem for someone in need.

2016 was, to say the least, an extremely challenging year for many of us. I know that there is an undercurrent of fear & uncertainty as to what is ahead next year. Even with the best laid plans we, (to quote the wonderful author Lisa N. Edwards), “Can’t Fight Fate”. And to quote Kansas Band, we must rise “above the noise & confusion”.

I find one’s place in the fabric of this world is to write the definition of your life according to what is best for you and to look at who you are not who others want you to be. I will never be that social person who wants to be a part of a group. I think it works for some people, but it is not something that I desire. I much rather my place be to write from the heart. Solitude is not a curse, in my opinion. I feel that the best words are born from the moments when one is authentic and unafraid to be his or herself not the person that others make you out to be.

So, my holiday wish and my wish for 2017 is that you can find that place for you where you can define yourself according to your own terms & no one else’s expectations. Jared Padalecki reminds us to “love ourselves first” which isn’t always easy, but it does open up amazing possibilities.

