#amwriting  #grateful  My 2017 New Year’s Resolutions by Tracy Diane Miller

2016 was a challenging year, but I continue to be grateful for the wonderful things that happened for me. 2016 was the year that I published my poetry books. I wanted to write for an online magazine & was fortunate to be welcomed to the writing team of The Nerdy Girl Express on February 27, 2016. Because of The Nerdy Girl Express, I was able to interview my oldest living favorite actor, Gordon Thomson.

As 2017 is poised to begin, here are my New Year’s Resolutions:

1. Write.

I will end this year with having published 27 poetry books & written 3,020 poems, 118 book reviews, 162 articles for The Nerdy Girl Express.

In 2017, I hope to continue this creative trend. In addition, I plan to publish my first novel, “Tomorrow Doesn’t Exist,” on December 25, 2017. Finally, I have some magazine pitches & some personal essays that I plan to write. Writing is my greatest satisfaction, my first & sustaining love. As long as God allows me to write & my mind remains strong & receptive to ideas, I will write.

2. Limit the social in social media.

Yes, I’m sounding like a broken record. But social media for me is less about being social. I joined Twitter & Facebook as writing platforms & to encourage creative artistry. I love to write. I love to discover new artists, authors, musicians, etc. I have been fortunate to create friendships with a few creative people & people who champion charitable causes that are close to my heart. But I AM NOT A SOCIAL PERSON. Some people enjoy having alot of followers whether or not there is any meaningful interactions. Or, perhaps, a person is trying to build his or her brand so a huge following is essential. For me this is not a consideration. I’m not into selfies. I actually don’t even like taking pictures unless it is absolutely necessary (which is why most of the pictures of me that I do post were taken between 1965 through 1969. Baby pictures with my twin sister are my exception). Health reasons prohibited me from attending the Supernatural Burbank Convention in November. When I finally meet Jared Padalecki for the first & only time in 2017, I’m making the exception to my rule & doing a photo op to create a tangible memory of the moment.

Otherwise, I enjoy my little corner of the Twitter & Facebook world where I champion creative artistry. I enjoy writing my articles, blog posts & books.

3. Travel.

Besides for my attending a Supernatural Convention in 2017, there are 3 additional events that God willing, I will be traveling to.

4. Listen to my instincts.

I used to be so much better with this when I was younger. Now I feel as though I stupidly ignore my trusted inner voice when it is desperately screaming in my ear. Some of the moments that caused me heartache in 2016 were caused in part because I turned a deaf ear to my instincts. I have no intention of doing that in 2017.

5. ALWAYS, ALWAYS find at least 1 thing each day to acknowledge in my gratitude prayer.

Even in my darkest moments in 2016 when I suffered a tremendous loss of myself & joy, I was able to find something positive to hold on to.

