Robert Burns was right about the best laid schemes by Tracy Diane Miller

Eighteenth century poet Robert Burns wrote in a well-known poem, “The best laid schemes of mice and men…” This poem might have been written as a tribute of sorts to overworked field mice, but the modern day wisdom is the recognition that even with the most carefully constructed plans, things may not always proceed as we might envision.

I had hoped to publish my first novel “Tomorrow Doesn’t Exist” on my 52nd birthday on July 4th. After extensive rewrites and changes in scenes and dialogue, I have decided to push back the publication date to May 21, 2018. I suppose my July projection was somewhat ambitious on my part. I’m not embarrassed to admit that I’m a novice to novel writing. I suspect that I’ll go through between two or three rewrites before my novel is where I want it to be. Right now I’m looking at too many emotional scenes. I need to weave more humor into my narrative. Talk about a challenge for someone who lacks the humor gene!

Still I’m going to make sure to include in my gratitude prayer for this Monday that God has enabled me to live this particular writing journey.

