My small creativity circle, shades of the “Algonquin Round Table” by Tracy Diane Miller

“Creativity is Contagious, pass it on”

Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein was unquestionably a genius. While his famed theory of relativity is universally renowned, I find myself more focused on his quote “Creativity is Contagious, pass it on”.

In the early 1920s, celebrated critic and poet Dorothy Parker was the founding member of the “Algonquin Round Table”, a group of actors, critics and writers who met weekly for lunch at the Algonquin in New York to discuss events, trade witticisms and champion each other’s creative pursuits. Some of the other members of the Algonquin Round Table included Robert Benchley, Edna Ferber, Beatrice Kaufman, George Kaufman, and Alexander Woollcott.

What struck me most is that the women of the Algonquin Round Table were unapologetically accomplished, creative and intelligent during an era when women were expected to be meek, silent and subservient. While not on the same scale as the suffragettes who shed blood so that women could have the right to vote, the creative types who came before us, those people who subscribed to Einstein’s notion that “Creativity is Contagious, pass it on” ,were stunningly perceptive.

After what happened to me in 2016 coupled with some extremely unpleasant social media interactions, I made a healthy and wise decision to exercise caution in my 2017 approach. Fourteen days into this New Year, I’m already reaping the benefits. Thus, my focus is on my small creativity circle.

I’m fortunate to have my small creativity circle of artists, authors, musicians, etc. who inspire my words and challenge me in my writing process. Because my creativity circle of talented and inspirational individuals are spread across the globe, there is no likelihood of Algonquin style meetings. Instead, I find tremendous satisfaction in reading and reviewing their books, absorbing their art and becoming seduced by their music that speaks directly to my soul. My central purpose for being on Facebook and Twitter is to write and to foster creative artistry which I seek to maintain through my poetry, articles and reviews.

Each of these creative standard bearers has enriched my life beyond measure. Many of these people I discovered through their work. Over the many months we have been able to get to know each other, I know that their compassion, their intelligence, their wit and their creativity (yes, that word again) is the never-ending gift.

I can smile because in a very real way, I do have my Algonquin Round Table of sorts.

For me, Creativity is Contagious. Thankfully, there is no cure.

