#amwriting When one of your favorite authors asks you how the novel you are writing is progressing: PRICELESS! by Tracy Diane Miller

I ADORE my authors! I love reading & reviewing their books, interviewing them, writing articles about them & promoting their work on social media. In another life, I probably would have made a very effective publicist at a publishing house. I literally have countless promotional strategies for authors & I’m never shy about advocating their books to potential readers.

But I have to also add that I’m very pleased when one of my favorite authors takes the time to ask me how the novel that I’m writing is progressing. Many people know that writing poetry is my enduring passion. I’m a novice at novel writing. I started writing my first novel during #NaNoWriMo2016 last November. While I fell short of the 50,000 words that I had hoped to write in 30 days, I did write a little over 40,000 words. Of course, much of the “meat” of this first effort has been revised substantially over the last few months. I had initially set my July 4th birthday in 2017 as my target publication date. A bit ambitious on my part. I was reminded of Scottish poet Robert Burns’ poem about “the best laid plans”; subsequently, my new publication date for my novel, “Tomorrow Doesn’t Exist”, is December 25, 2017.

Anyway, to have one of the authors who you admire for their writing talent & the class that she shows daily as a person ask you about your novel…well, my heart is full. This particular author has shown me time & again how much she cares about me. She is such an AMAZING person!

I readily admit my insecurities at becoming a novelist, yet I’m grateful that I will FINALLY get to tell this particular story. It has been inside of me for a very long time.

