I just wrote a new poem for Katherine Ramdeen. I’m thinking of you today.

#amwriting #poetry My heart knows scars but I wear hope, a poem for @Katramdeen by Tracy Diane Miller

I live in a world of paradox,
How can one make sense of hate?
To celebrate the sorrow of man,
Compassion must never be made to wait.

When you see my face or hear my voice,
Listen, for it is compassion I shall give to you,
I’ll wrap my love around your soul,
For together, I know that we will make it through.

My heart knows many scars,
But I also wear hope,
I continue to fight the battles for both you and me,
Because that is how I chose to cope.

My name is Katherine,
But I don’t ask that you memorize my name,
All I ask is that you practice compassion, love and respect,
Then to imprint positivity on your soul all the same.

I believe that compassion is that starting point,
For where we all must truly begin,
Because even if the world seems insane,
If we work together, I know that we can win.

My heart knows many scars,
But I also wear hope,
I continue to fight the battles for both you and me,
Because that is how I chose to cope.

